Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

HPC Newsletter 6.10.18

HPC Newsletter 6.10.18


presented by

SignatureCare Emergency Center

Our three day Junior Tournament concluded on the Sunday Farish field with the NYTS Qualifier final. Seven NYTS teams faced off during Friday’s play to capture a spot in the final. With 40 players across three divisions it was one of the largest in Houston Polo Club’s history.
Joanie Jackson with a breakaway run to goal
The National Youth Tournament Series qualifiers are held at polo clubs all across the states during the summer months so that youth players have the opportunity to play grass polo with their peers to foster sportsmanship, horsemanship, and teamwork. NYTS All-Star awards are awarded at each qualifier to players who excel in those categories and each player that is awarded a NYTS All-Star award is in contention for being selected for the NYTS Championship held each year at the end of August.
Milo Dorignac carries the ball down field
Horsegate and Sullivan Group battled for the first two chukkers of our round robin final. Sullivan Group’s Milo Dorignac and Cipi Echezarreta scored a combined 3 goals to Horsegate’s 2 goals by Lance Stefanakis and Anson Moore. In the second set of chukkers, Horsegate and Texas Monthly defended their goals closely till the very end when Vaughn Miller scored for Texas Monthly, winning the set 1-0. In the third and final set of chukkers, Sullivan Group and Texas Monthly took to the field in the fight for first place. Sullivan Group’s Joanie Jackson scored first followed by a penalty conversion from Miller of Texas Monthly to tie it up. Echezarreta scored from the penalty line to put Sullivan Group ahead by one but in the last few seconds Miller scored from the field to send the match into an overtime shoot out. Jackson was successful from the penalty line in round one putting her team ahead. With all other players shooting just wide of the goal, Sullivan Group claimed victory of the Houston NYTS Qualifier final, 3-2 over Texas Monthly.

Winning team: Sullivan Group

Christopher Owen, Joanie Jackson, Milo Dorignac, Cipi Echezarretapictured with Steve Armour, Paul Jornayvis, Kelly Price, Chrys Beal, SignatureCare Emergency Center Facility Nurse Manager Jeff Matthew and Marketing Assistant Nick Harrilal

Winners Circle

All-Stars: Milo Dorignac, Cipi Echezarreta, April Galindo, Vaughn Miller, Anson Moore, Taylor Morris, Grace Mudra, Chino Payan, Grayson Price, Lance StefanakisBPP: Layla, played by Lance StefanakisAQHA BPP of the final: Mike, played by Lily LequericaAQHA BPP of the consolation: Smooth Move Ray, played by Taylor Morris


to Interscholastic Senior Graduate Grace Burgert! She will be attending the University of Virginia in the fall.


to the 2018 spring polo school class for completing their 8 week program!

BIG thanks to...

Mark Prinsloo and Barlee Flanders for your ponies, time and knowledge!
Special thanks to our 2018 sponsors!
Copyright © 2018 Houston Polo Club, All rights reserved.Thank you for being a member or guest of the Houston Polo Club.Our mailing address is:
Houston Polo Club
8552 Memorial Dr
Houston, TX 77024
Add us to your address book
Want to change how you receive these emails?You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.